



Committee: COUNCIL BUSINESS COMMITTEE

Date: THURSDAY, 13 SEPTEMBER 2012

Venue: MORECAMBE TOWN HALL

*Time:* 6.00 P.M.

#### AGENDA

1. Apologies for Absence

# 2. Appointment of Vice-Chairman

To appoint a Vice-Chairman for the 2012/13 municipal year.

3. Minutes

Minutes of meeting held on 26<sup>th</sup> April 2012 (previously circulated).

4. Items of Urgent Business Authorised by the Chairman

#### 5. **Declarations of Interest**

To receive declarations by members of interests in respect of items on this agenda.

Members are reminded that, in accordance with the Localism Act 2011, they are required to declare any disclosable pecuniary interests which have not already been declared in the Council's Register of Interests. (It is a criminal offence not to declare a disclosable pecuniary interest either in the Register or at the meeting).

Whilst not a legal requirement, in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 10 and in the interests of clarity and transparency, Members should declare any disclosable pecuniary interests which they have already declared in the Register, at this point in the meeting.

In accordance with Part B Section 2 of the Code Of Conduct, members are required to declare the existence and nature of any other interests as defined in paragraphs 8(1) or 9(2) of the Code of Conduct.

6. **Member Development Strategy 2012/13** (Pages 1 - 10)

Report of the Democratic Services Manager.

7. **Electoral Review - Warding Patterns** (Pages 11 - 18)

Report of the Democratic Services Manager.

### 8. **Public Speaking at Council Meetings** (Pages 19 - 24)

Report of the Democratic Services Manager.

## 9. **Special Council 2012** (Pages 25 - 27)

Report of the Democratic Services Manager.

### 10. Appointments to Committees and Changes to Membership

#### **ADMINISTRATIVE ARRANGEMENTS**

## (i) Membership

Councillors Richard Newman-Thompson (Chairman), June Ashworth, Melanie Forrest, Janet Hall, Roger Mace, Vikki Price and Sylvia Rogerson

### (ii) Substitute Membership

Councillors Tony Anderson (Substitute), Tim Hamilton-Cox (Substitute), Geoff Knight (Substitute), Jane Parkinson (Substitute), Ian Pattison (Substitute) and Emma Smith (Substitute)

### (iii) Queries regarding this Agenda

Please contact Peter Baines, Democratic Services - 01524 582074, or email pbaines@lancaster.gov.uk.

### (iv) Changes to Membership, substitutions or apologies

Please contact Members' Secretary, telephone 582170, or alternatively email memberservices@lancaster.gov.uk.

MARK CULLINAN, CHIEF EXECUTIVE, TOWN HALL, DALTON SQUARE, LANCASTER LA1 1PJ

Published on Wednesday 5<sup>th</sup> September 2012.